What is the play carousel about?

The story of Rodgers and Hammerstein's "Carousel" revolves around a carousel barker Billy Bigelow, whose romance with millworker Julie Jordan comes at the price of both their jobs. A secondary plot line deals with millworker Carrie Pipperidge and her romance with ambitious fisherman Enoch Snow.