What are flip flops called in australia?

Around 1957, Kiwi businessmen Maurice Yock &John Cowie both claimed credit for what they termed a “JANDAL”- a portmanteau of “Japanese” and “sandal”- so that Australia’s connection with the flip flop became more established. SOURCE: The Conversation.com. ALSO they're commonly called THONGS.