What is vegetable shortening?

Vegetable shortening is a substitute for lard (rendered pig fat) in baking and cooking. Introduced in the early1900's by Proctor and Gamble, vegetable shortening is made by pumping hydrogen into heated vegetable oil. More stable than lard, it does not need refrigeration.