Who said fortune favors the brave?

The first recorded use of this expression, or close variations of it, are from Roman times - in the writings of Ennius (239-169 BCE), Terence(190-159 BCE),Virgil (70-19 BCE) and Pliny the Elder (23-79 CE).For example in the Aeneis, Virgil writes Audaces fortuna iuvat (luck helps those who are brave)