What year was the jonestown tragedy?

1978. Specifically November 18, 1978. The tragedy unfolded in Guyana, where a total of 918 people died, including a member of the United States House of Representatives and his four member entourage. 909 died by cyanide poisoning, and 9 by gunshot.