What is a corrupted soul?

In Rusty Lake: Corrupted Souls are beings that roam around Rusty Lake. They are shown as shadowy phantoms with white glowing eyes. The Souls are tied to the black cubes; the process of extracting negative memories into black cubes corrupts the body if the victim learns about it.