Do gardenias like sun or shade?

In hot climates, gardenias grow best with morning sun and afternoon shade. They also grow well in light filtered shade under tall trees, such as oaks or pines. They can tolerate full sun in cooler areas, especially if their root area is covered with organic mulch.