What is the difference between deviled ham and ham salad?

Deviled ham is actually just plain old ground up ham. The devil's actually in the details, as spices such as hot sauce, peppers, turmeric, mustard, or cayenne pepper are blended into the meat for a little extra kick. Ham salad is chopped ham with mayonnaise and other items such as relish & onions.