What is the hamstring muscle?

On the human anatomy, the hamstrings are one of three muscles on the posterior of the thigh. It connects between the hip and the back of the knee, and extends the hip when the trunk is fixed; they also flex the knee and inwardly rotate the lower leg when the knee is bent.