Are beans considered a carbohydrate?

That's right; beans contain both carbohydrate and protein. Since beans have both carbohydrate and protein, where do they fit in a diabetes nutrition plan? Remember that beans are high in fiber. Your body doesn't digest fiber so not all of the carbohydrate from beans will be turned into blood sugar.