What's the difference between salmon and mackerel?

Mackerel and salmon are oily fish. Mackerel is a bony fish and is less salty than salmon, it has an authentic taste, but some describe it as close to tuna. Salmon, on the other hand, has fleshier meat and has an authentic smoky, fresh taste