What's the world record for the highest jump?

The men's world record for the highest jump is 8 feet and 1/4 inches. It was set in 1993 by Javier Sotomayor. The women's world record for the highest jump is 6 feet and 10 1/4 inches. It was set in 1987 by Stefka Kostadinova.