Is platinum stronger than steel?

Stainless steel, in its soft, fully annealed state is about 155 Vickers, but at full hardening can reach 390 Vickers, which is 70 percent harder than platinum or white gold. This means that stainless steel will resist wear, dents, dings, and scratches better than either white gold or platinum.