Was abraham lincoln bipolar?

Bipolar disorder is a diagnosis that did not exist during Lincoln's time. Bipolar generally consists of drastic mood swings from depression to highs. Most historians agree, mainly from his own writings and those of people around him, that Lincoln did suffer from a form of generalized depression.