What is the cember fourteenth?

December 14 is the 348th day of the year (349th in leap years) in the Gregorian calendar. 17 days remain until the end of the year. On December 14th, 1701 in Japan, a band of rōnin (leaderless samurai) avenged the death of their master. This event has been commemorated in numerous works of art.