What's the substitute for butter cream?

Buttercream is an icing used on baked goods. So anything you'd use to ice a cupcake like whipped cream or ganache (chocolate) could be used. Buttercream is also used as a filling in cakes etc so you could also substitute fruit spreads like strawberry jam instead.