Does monosodium glutamate have gluten in it?

Monosodium glutamate, or MSG, is gluten free. It is a flavor enhancer used in many manufactured foods and can be made from wheat; however, during processing the wheat protein is completely broken down and can be eaten by people avoiding gluten