What makes amethyst purple?

Amethyst is primarily a silicon dioxide crystal known as quartz. In the amethyst crystal structure, a number of silicon atoms are replaced by iron. After irradiation by x-rays or gamma rays, the oxidation state of the iron atoms is altered, yielding the purple color.