What does it mean when your cat bites you and he's purring?

A cat bites when purring as a sign of affection. Sometimes a bite is hard and a verbal correction is in order. An "Ow!" or a "No" should work. Never hit the cat or yell, as the cat meant to give you love. So punishment will confuse the cat. Let it gently know that a hard bite isn't acceptable.