What's a pineapple?

Pineapple plants are a type of Bromeliad, and the pineapples themselves are the fruit of the plant. They grow in tropical climates and have a green, spikey top and rough peel that turns golden when ripe. Inside is a sweet, juicy, yellow flesh that can be eaten as is or in smoothies & desserts.