How many times can you splice a wire?

There is no theoretical limit. A practical limit would be if you could not manage the spliced line and it is just easier to string a new line. You need to consider that you must cut into the insulation to get to the wire to be spliced. When there are too many repairs, the insulation can deteriorate.