What happens if you breathe in helium?

Helium is a nontoxic gas and is used in scuba diving along with oxygen. However, inhaling straight helium replaces oxygen and can cause hypoxia, or lack of oxygen. Short term hypoxia can cause one to pass out. Long term hypoxia can lead to death.