How many ounces is one vanilla bean?

A 7 to 9 inch vanilla bean will weight approximately 5 grams (0.2 oz) and will yield about half a teaspoon of vanillin seeds. Half that amount should be enough to give flavor to a recipe for 4 to 5 people.