How do you get an amethyst chard in minecraft?

First, find a geode. They can usually be found between the bedrock and Y=70. Once you've located a geode, break through the first two layers to located the amethyst inside. Mining amethyst clusters will drop four amethyst shards with an iron pickaxe or better.