What does a lightning rod do in minecraft?

The Lightning Rod in Minecraft is used to divert lightning strikes during thunderstorms. Iit’s also handy if you’re expecting an attack from someone carrying a trident with the Channeling enchantment. It’ll divert those lightning strikes too.