What happened to kmart?

Kmart peaked in 1992, and declined with competition from Walmart, Target, and online retail. Failure to invest in computer tech to manage supply chains, high dividends reducing the amount of money available for improving stores, and lack of coherent brand image contributed to losses and bankruptcy.