Who is the texas chainsaw master?

The movie Texas Chainsaw Massacre was marketed as being based on true events; although the character of Leatherface and minor story details were inspired by the crimes of murderer Ed Gein, its plot is largely fictional. Gein was an American convicted murderer and body snatcher from Wisconsin.