Can you substitute tomato sauce for ketchup?

Tomato puree or tomato sauce can be used as a substitute for Ketchup. You can add vinegar and/or honey or maple syrup, 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar and ½ tablespoon honey to ¼ cup tomato puree or sauce. Like tomato paste, tomato sauce is bland compared to ketchup, but it works in a pinch.