Why do dogs smell other dog's butts?

To the sides of a dog’s butt are pouches called anal sacs; these contain glands which secrete chemicals that can tell a lot of information like gender, reproductive status, and clues about its health, diet, and even emotional state. Dogs learn a lot about each other this way.