What is sperm whales?

Sperm whales are the largest of the toothed whales, recognized by a large square head and narrow jaw. Males reach a length of up to 80 feet can weigh 55 tons. Females are smaller, usually topping out at under 45 feet and weigh under 28 tons. They can dive to depths of over 1,100 feet.