What are the parts of a compass?

A basic compass has three main parts: a magnetized needle; a base-plate scale; and a housing. More elaborate compasses may have additional parts, such as a magnifying lens, declination scale, etc., but all portable compasses will have the minimum 3 main parts: needle, scale, and housing.