Why do they put nitrogen in tires?

Nitrogen is put in tires becauseIt is less likely to migrate through tire rubber than oxygen, which means that the tire pressure will remain more stable over the long term. Also, tires filled with nitrogen rather than air exhibit less pressure change with temperature swings.