When was the first satellite put in orbit?

In 1957 Russia launched Sputnik 1. It was the first of a series of four. The Russian word "Sputnik" means "companion". Sputnik obtained data pertaining to the density of the upper layers of the atmosphere and the propagation of radio signals in the ionosphere.

---

On October 4, 1957 the U.s.s.r launched Sputnik 1, the 1st satellite to orbit the Earth.