What is a prairie schooner?

A prairie schooner is a covered wagon like the one people in the U S used to move from the east to the west in the 1800's during the Great Migration. Prairie schooners were made of wood & had white colored, removable canvas covers. They were pulled by oxen teams and sometimes horses or mules.

---

A 19th century covered wagon. This wagon was very popular with people moving west. The wagons were usually covered with a white sheet to offer some protection to the traveler's belongings and the sheet looked reminiscent of a sail. Hence, 'prairie schooner'.