How hot is the sun get?

According to scientists at Cal Tech the surface of the sun is about ten thousand degrees Fahrenheit. The inner core has temperatures more than 27 million degrees Fahrenheit.

---

Different layers of the sun vary in temperature. The core can reach more than 27 million °F or 15 million °C. The photosphere is about 10000 °F, 5500 °C. Surface sunspots are cooler at about 7300 °F, 4000 °C. The chromosphere reaches about 7800 °F, 4320 °C. The corona can reach up to 17 million °F.