What's the difference between a yam and a potato?

Yams have rough, dark brown skin that is often compared to tree bark, and their flesh is dry and starchy like a regular potato. Sweet potatoes have smooth reddish skin, softer flesh (when cooked), and a sweet flavor. Yams have rough brown skin like tree bark, white flesh, and a neutral flavor.