How did robert baratheon become king?

It was during the Rebellion that he defeated Rhaegar Targaryen, Jaime killed the Mad King, and soon after Lyanna Stark died. Robert, being a descendant of Rhaelle Targaryen through his mother had a stronger claim to the throne than Jon Arryn, Ned and others which is why he became the King.