What's the old wives tale about doing laundry on new year's day?

There are several superstitions related to doing laundry on New Year's Day, all of them saying that you should not do any laundry on January 1st or risk having more laundry to do in the coming year, washing away your good luck for the year, or even a family member being washed away!