How long do you boil maple syrup?

How to Boil Maple Syrup: Set up a turkey fryer or wood fire in a safe place. Fill a boiling pot with 5 gallons of sap. Boil the sap for approximately 4 hours. When you have about a half gallon left in the pot, finish boiling on a stove. The syrup is done when it reaches 219°F or 66% sugar content.