What's the clipper system?

Also known as an Alberta clipper, a clipper system is a fast moving low pressure system heading southeast out of Alberta Canada, down thru the great plains, midwest, and great lakes, usually during the winter. This low pressure front may bring light snow, strong winds, and colder temperatures.