Who pitched the first perfect game in baseball's modern era?

Cy Young finished the season with a 26-16 record and a 1.97 ERA, but he would never be perfect again. The author believes this game is significant because it was the first modern perfect game, i.e., the first one pitched at a distance of 60 feet 6 inches.