Why is a helicopter called a helicopter?

The English word helicopter is adapted from the French word hélicoptère, coined by Gustave Ponton d'Amécourt in 1861, which originates from the Greek root helix meaning " spiral, whirl, convolution" , and the Greek root pteron, meaning "wing".