How many sides are on a blitzball?

There are six active blitzball teams that compete in both Final Fantasy X and Final Fantasy X-2. Teams comprise of six players per side; three fielders, two defenders, and one goalkeeper. Team captains tend to have bands on their left arms as a sign of their status.