What's the w. h. a. t.?

What Is The What, is a novel by Dave Eggers, based on the life of Valentino Achak Deng, who was forced to leave his village in Sudan at the age of 7, and trek hundreds of miles by foot, pursued by militias, government bombers, and wild animals, crossing the deserts of 3 countries to find freedom.