Is cozumel mexico an island?

Cozumel is the largest island in the Mexican Caribbean and third largest in Mexico. It sits about 10 miles, or 16 km, off the east coast of Playa del Carmen, Yucatán Peninsula. It is separated from the mainland by the Cozumel Channel and is close to the Yucatán Channel.