When was cake created?

Cake was invented according to food historians in Europe sometime in the 17th century.

---

According to the Warm Oven Blog, invention of cake originated in ancient Egypt as round, flat, unleavened breads that were cooked on a hot stone. The evolution of baked goods continued over many centuries through the introduction of new ingredients and the invention of new techniques in baking.