What's root beer made out of?

Root beer is a carbonated soft drink made from herbs, bark, spices, roots and berries. The main ingredient in root beer is sassafras root which lends the drink its distinctive flavor. Other ingredients that are common include vanilla, wintergreen, licorice and nutmeg.