What does a. r. and a. r. fifteen stand for?

In the context asked, AR stands for Armalite rifle. ArmaLite was the designer of this weapon. The 15 is a model number, the AR15 being based on their AR10 battle rifle. Contrary to popular belief the AR as used here does not stand for assault rifle.

---

The AR in Ar15 stands for AmarLite rifle the company that developed it in the 1950s.