What does the first car look like?

While some of the very first cars were powered by steam engines, dating back to the 1700s, it was Karl Benz in 1885 who invented the first gas-powered car, which he later received a patent for in 1886. Benz's first car had three wheels, looked much like an elongated tricycle and sat two people.