How do you grow a japanese maple tree?

Dig a hole three times the width of the root ball, but not as deep. When you put the tree into the hole, it should sit slightly above the soil line. Mix some slow-release fertilizer into the hole, backfill and water thoroughly. While Japanese maples will grow in most soils